Written by Jason A. S.

Started Writing on:  Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 5:48AM

Ended:  Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 6:13AM

                Dreams never came easy,
And I never asked for no hand out,
I ain’t here to do no pleasing,
Because that isn’t my job,
Sometimes you gotta deal the hand you’re given,
Even when you get it raw,
And you’re children they ain’t always there to be grateful,
Sometimes they’re there to break your heart.
Some days you have to hope when there isn’t one to be given,
Even when you’re scared and knocking on Hells’ Gate or Heavens’ Door,
Sometimes you gotta take,
Even when you ain’t got nothing on your plate,
Just so you can carry on.
And some moments it’s hard to breathe,
Knowing they won’t always be there for me,
But I owe them nothing,
Just as they owed nothing to me,
I just got lucky to have them,
When they didn’t have to care for me,
You know what I care to say,
Even when I don’t give a damn to speak.
And in your silence I begin to worry,
I ain’t trying to be what I ain’t ever going to be,
The world breaks my bones,
And life crushes my spirit,
And when the darkness is all I see,
I just keep on keeping on.
Some days you have to give love when there isn’t any to be given,
Even when you’re scared of Hells’ Gate or Heavens’ Door,
Sometimes you gotta steal,
Because you ain’t got anything on your plate,
Just so you can carry on,
Even when your heart is breaking,
Just so you can see tomorrow.
Sometimes you got to pray,
Even when you don’t give a damn to believe,
Because there isn’t anything else for you to use,
And you’re damned if you do, damned if you don’t.
Leave a Reply

